Art and Culture for Everyone?!

Berlin is a diverse place. Although diversity and equal opportunity should be a matter of course in a publicly funded cultural sector, Berlin’s cultural sector still lacks diversity. Diversity Arts Culture’s mission is to strengthen diversity within the cultural sector: provide equal access to art and culture for everyone and dismantle discrimination within the cultural sector.

 

Diversity – A Multifarious Term

Many political projects and initiatives within the arts are currently working with the term “diversity”. Ideas about what diversity means differ greatly. This broad usage of the term may pose a threat to the definition’s accuracy. Generally speaking, we can name at least two central aspects that define diversity:

  • the moral-legal aspect
  • the economic aspect

 

Both aspects equate diversity with possibility rather than deficiency. The economic perspective understands diversity as a factor that determines quality and thereby achieves better work outcomes and in the long-run generates economic profit. The moral-legal perspective is based on legal frameworks such as human rights, the constitution or the General Act on Equal Treatment to monitor and build equal opportunity. In our work we focus on an understanding of diversity, which critically engages power and discrimination. We want to differentiate between two types of definitions: a general definition of diversity based on which all people differ in some ways from one another because they may have different hair colors and shoe sizes, and a definition of diversity, which critically engages discrimination and looks at differences that lead to discrimination.

 

Who is missing from the cultural sector?

Our work focuses on those who experience exclusion and discrimination within the cultural sector: all groups that are not adequately represented within the workforce, art programs and audiences and have limited or no access to the cultural sector.

 

We use the characteristics identified in the General Act on Equal Treatment as a guideline to describe which groups of people are affected by discrimination. The General Act on Equal Treatment considers “discrimination on the grounds of race or ethnic origin, gender, religion or belief, disability, age or sexual orientation” (AGG, §1). Within our work we move beyond these characteristics to also include discrimination based on social origin, social and economic status, as well as, East(-West) socialisation. Our understanding of discrimination is also intersectional, because we work from the basic assumption that different experiences of exclusion usually interact with one another.

 

Why not just leave everything the way it is?

There are lots of good reasons why we should make the cultural sector more diverse. Here are some examples.

1. New and diverse perspectives offer more exciting programs: Promoting diversity within the cultural sector means being open for creative impulses and innovation.

2. Societal change affects audiences: Many cultural institutions’ established audiences are diminishing. Those who dismantle barriers can therefore increase the size of their audiences.

3. The publicly funded cultural sector is for everyone: Only if we remove barriers and guarantee equitable representation can institutions within the cultural sector be successful at fulfilling their mission.

4. Diversity development meets (inter)national legal requirements. Both the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (ICESCR) and the UNESCO convention about the protection and promotion of diverse cultural expressions guarantee that everyone has the right to participate in the arts. Especially as it relates to work, the General Act on Equal Treatment prohibits discrimination of the groups named within the act.

 

Diversity? Yes! But how do we go about it?

Citizens for Europe’s study „Handlungsoptionen zur Diversifizierung des Berliner Kultursektors“ (“Courses of Action to Diversify Berlin’s Cultural Sector”) concludes that anchoring diversity within the cultural sector in sustainable ways is best actualized by creating a "service center for diversity". Citizens for Europe also formulated important principles for diversity development within the study. For example, such principles include: addressing diversity on all hierarchal levels of a cultural intuition, especially with management and assuring that diversity development plays a role in both the fore- and background of an institution. Our work builds on the outcomes of the study and is comprised of the following services:

Kunst und Kultur für alle?!

Berlin ist divers. Doch die gesellschaftliche Vielfalt spiegelt sich noch nicht angemessen im Berliner Kulturbetrieb wider. Dabei sollten Diversität und Chancengleichheit in einem öffentlich geförderten Kulturbetrieb eigentlich selbstverständlich sein. Diversity Arts Culture hat den Auftrag, die Diversität im Kulturbetrieb zu stärken, das heißt gleichberechtigte Zugangsmöglichkeiten für alle Menschen zu Kunst und Kultur zu schaffen und Diskriminierungen im Kulturbetrieb abzubauen.

 

Diversität – ein vielfältiger Begriff

Viele kulturpolitische Projekte und Initiativen arbeiten gerade mit dem Begriff Diversität. Dabei gehen die Vorstellungen davon, was mit Diversität gemeint ist, weit auseinander. Das Wort verliert an Bedeutungsschärfe. Grundsätzlich lassen sich jedoch mindestens zwei zentrale Aspekte von Diversität benennen:

  • der moralisch-rechtliche Aspekt
  • der wirtschaftliche Aspekt

 

Beide betrachten Vielfalt nicht als Mangel, sondern als Potenzial. Die wirtschaftliche Perspektive versteht Diversität als einen Qualitätsfaktor, durch den bessere Arbeitsergebnisse und langfristig ein wirtschaftlicher Gewinn entstehen. Die moralisch-rechtliche Perspektive nimmt gesetzliche Rahmungen, wie zum Beispiel die Menschenrechte, das Grundgesetz oder das Allgemeine Gleichbehandlungsgesetz als Grundlage, um Chancengleichheit zu prüfen und herzustellen.

Wir setzen in unserer Arbeit auf ein macht- und diskriminierungskritisches Verständnis von Diversität. In Abgrenzung von einem allgemeinen Diversitätsbegriff, bei dem alle Menschen sich irgendwie voneinander unterscheiden, zum Beispiel weil sie unterschiedliche Haarfarben und Schuhgrößen haben, nehmen wir mit unserem diskriminierungskritischen Diversitätsverständnis genau die Unterschiede in den Blick, die zu Diskriminierungen führen.

 

Wer fehlt im Kulturbetrieb?

Bei unserer Arbeit geht es um alle, die im Kulturbetrieb ausgeschlossen und diskriminiert werden: alle, die in Personal, Programm und Publikum nicht ausreichend repräsentiert sind und keinen oder nur eingeschränkten Zugang zum Kulturbetrieb haben. Um zu beschreiben, welche Gruppen ausgeschlossen werden, orientieren wir uns an den Diskriminierungsdimensionen, die im Allgemeinen Gleichbehandlungsgesetz festgehalten sind. Das Allgemeine Gleichbehandlungsgesetz berücksichtigt „Benachteiligungen aus Gründen der Rasse oder wegen der ethnischen Herkunft, des Geschlechts, der Religion oder Weltanschauung, einer Behinderung, des Alters oder der sexuellen Identität“ (AGG, §1). Wir beziehen darüber hinaus Benachteiligungen aufgrund der sozialen Herkunft sowie der sozialen und ökonomischen Position in unsere Arbeit ein. Da wir grundsätzlich davon ausgehen, dass verschiedene Ausschlüsse oft zusammenwirken, ist unser Verständnis von Diskriminierung außerdem intersektional.

 

Warum nicht alles lassen, wie es ist?

Es gibt sehr gute Argumente für mehr Diversität im Kulturbetrieb, zum Beispiel:

 

1.  Neue und vielfältige Perspektiven machen das Programm spannender: Die Diversität im Kulturbetrieb zu fördern, heißt sich für kreative Impulse und Innovationen zu öffnen.

2.  Der gesellschaftliche Wandel hat Auswirkungen auf das Publikum: Das angestammte Publikum vieler Kulturinstitutionen schrumpft. Wer Barrieren abbaut, kann Besucher*innen dazugewinnen.

3.  Der öffentlich geförderte Kulturbetrieb ist für alle da: Nur wenn Ausschlüsse abgebaut werden und gleichberechtigte Repräsentation stattfindet, wird der Kulturbetrieb seinem öffentlichen Auftrag gerecht.

4.  Diversitätsentwicklung erfüllt (inter)nationale rechtliche Vorgaben: Sowohl der UN-Sozialpakt als auch die UNESCO-Konvention über den Schutz und die Förderung der Vielfalt kultureller Ausdrucksformen verpflichten dazu, allen das Recht auf Teilhabe am kulturellen Leben zu gewähren. Das Allgemeine Gleichbehandlungsgesetz verbietet die Benachteiligung aufgrund der oben benannten Gründe insbesondere im Arbeitsleben.

 

Diversität ja, aber wie?

In ihrer Studie „Handlungsoptionen zur Diversifizierung des Berliner Kultursektors“ kamen Citizens for Europe zu dem Ergebnis, dass Diversität nachhaltig am besten durch eine „Servicestelle Diversität“ - so der Arbeitsname, den Diversity Arts Culture ursprünglich hatte - im Berliner Kulturbetrieb verankert werden kann. Außerdem hielten Citizens for Europe in dieser Studie wichtige Grundsätze für die Diversitätsentwicklung fest. Zu diesen Grundsätzen zählt beispielsweise, dass Diversität auf allen Hierarchieebenen von Kulturinstitutionen ansetzen muss, insbesondere auf der Leitungsebene. Und dass Diversitätsentwicklung sowohl vor als auch hinter den Kulissen einer Institution eine Rolle spielt. Unsere Arbeit baut auf den Ergebnissen der Handlungsoptionen auf und umfasst folgende Bereiche: